Praise for Televenge

“Cable’s unflinching fictional exposé of the dark side of televangelism has a human victim in the person of Andie Oliver . . . Cable, a former member of a megachurch, places Andie’s desperate struggle against the oppression of Artury’s church, its brutal inner circle, murderous practices, financial fraud, and Joe’s abuse. This powerful story, skillfully written and with well-drawn characters, reveals the classic entrapment of vulnerable people in the name of a vengeful god. . .”
— Publishers Weekly

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“In Cable’s debut novel, young Southerner Andie Rose has fallen in love with the wrong man. Joe Oliver is a devoted follower of Rev. Calvin Artury, leader of the evangelical megachurch House of Praise, and Andie soon discovers the horrendous secrets of the church’s most prominent members. Though Andie is the main narrator, the point of view shifts among various characters, including the twisted mind of Reverend Artury. The explicit descriptions of blackmail, murder, rape, pedophilia, and pornography are not for the faint of heart. Yet loving relationships, faith, and family balance this dark side and make this novel an emotional rollercoaster that ends as intensely as it begins. . . . those who commit to Cable’s tome will find themselves captivated and deeply devoted to Andie. Fans of Fannie Flagg and Janet Evanovich will be hooked on this saga of religion, romance, and crime.”
— Shannon Marie Robinson, Library Journal

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Pamela King Cable’s debut novel breathes good and evil, frost and fire. You can finish it, but it won’t let you go.”
—Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of The Deep End of the Ocean
A litany of troubles set in lovely, descriptive prose makes this heartbreaking tale a homerun. Ande Oliver is destined to reign as North Carolina’s newest hero in the tradition of Rainey by Clyde Edgerton and Ellen Foster by Kay Gibbons. Televenge is nothing short of sheer Southern Fried Genius!
—Alle Wells, Alle’s Southern Sunday

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“A well-written book is a good book. A well-written book that has an amazing story is a fantastic book! A book that has BOTH is a rare treasure. That is what the highly anticipated romance/suspense novel, Televenge, is – a rare treasure. The author, Pamela King Cable, weaves a tale so intricate and meaningful that you will actually be caught breathless – I was! Cable deftly manages to take you to the very brink of raw emotion and then back again. Her talented and generous pacing is both suspenseful and enjoyable. Within a few paragraphs, you will love the main character, Andie, and you will not be able to wait to see what happens to her next.”
— Claudine Wolk, Help 4 New Moms

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“This action-packed thriller was a real page-turner, and delved deep into the hidden realities of evangelism. Andie was a very strong protagonist, who knew her own mind and was not fooled by Artury, who claimed to be the second coming of Christ. She could easily have been a ‘doormat’ type of character, who let others walk all over her, but in the face of extreme adversity and danger she refused to back down, and I had to admire her for that. There were many unexpected twists throughout the novel that gave it new depths and kept it interesting.”
— Lisa O’Meara, ChickLit Club

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“This novel, of Dickensian length and melodrama, is the story of one woman’s years-long struggles and confrontations with a sleazy, disturbed pentecostal televangelist and megachurch pastor. (Appropriately, the original meaning of the word “pastor” is a herder of sheep.) The author grew up in a Southern pentecostal milieu that is reflected in her writing style. I would not dream of giving away the complicated plot. Let me say only that although the novel is overly long, it is a real page-turner. The author is a somewhat conservative Christian, and that lends her work a certain air of verisimilitude.”
— Edd Doerr, Secular Perspectives
President of Americans for Religious Liberty, former President of American Humanist Association
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“A captivating, beautifully rendered, and unforgettable look at a world so few of us understand. Ms. Cable has courageously opened the door…and my eyes.”

— Lesley Kagen, New York Times best-selling author of Good Graces

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Pamela King Cable has written a masterpiece! Intricately woven, extremely well plotted, and saturated with details that bring it to life, the story touched me on an emotional level unparalleled in my 35-year career as a journalist! Worthy of the big screen, Televenge is simply the best novel I’ve ever read!”

— Penny Shreve, award-winning journalist, Wayne County Press, Illinois

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“No secrets lie as deeply as they do in the South, and no scandal hits as hard as those involving so-called men of God. In her first novel, Pamela King Cable digs deep to unearth the rotten core of a televangelist corrupted by ego and control. Rich with the details of the modern South, Televenge will consume your every waking moment from the opening sentence to the final word.”
—Laine Cunningham, award-winning author of Message Stick
“Searing, haunting and unforgettable—the dark side of twisted faith and the indomitable human spirit.”

—Gail Z. Martin, author of The Dread

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“It’s impossible to deny the magic of Pamela King Cable’s prose. Televenge is an extraordinary look at the evangelical church. A journey of love, pain, and redemption with the most heartbreaking heroine to come along in years. If you read only one book this year, this is it.”

—Dena Harris, author of Who Moved My Mouse? A Self-Help Book for Cats

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“A story that pulls you in and keeps you reading, of love turned cruel and evil robed in holiness. By the time you’re through you’ll have a new friend—Andie Rose, Televenge’s gutsy heroine. And you won’t forget her for a long, long time.”

—David Halperin, Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies, UNC-Chapel Hill, author of Journal of a UFO Investigator

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Pamela King Cable’s first novel, Televenge, tugs at your heartstrings as you experience Andie’s life journey. Ms. Cable masterfully weaves a tale about the dark side of an evangelist’s soul and the unending love of a young woman. You will not want to stop reading! It has you hooked from the beginning to very last page.”

—Tammie Merrill, blogger/author, Carolina Heartstrings.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

“Televenge is part romance, part mystery, part suspense thriller and part Sunday sermon. And while each part is well crafted, it is because the sum is so gloriously executed, reading it will make you want stand up and shout hallelujah!”

—Jackie Stanley, author of Reading to Heal: How to Use Bibliotherapy to Improve Your Life

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________